Pre-Holiday 40 Bags in 40 Days

Here we go again! I did the whole “40 bags in 40 days” thing in the spring. I did it because it REALLY needed to be done! I live in smallish house and we have WAY too much stuff! Last spring, once my 40 days were up, I felt the house breath a sigh of relief! Plus, let’s face it, I am a “thrower awayer”. Not literally throw away — pass on the good stuff to a charity or re-purpose things, or re-cycle , or throw away if need be.

While it brings my heart joy when I see the trash man take away our garbage and the recycle truck come and take all my weekly recycling – the rest of my family tend to be more pack-rats! But, I was on a mission in the spring and everyone pitched in. I was very proud of them! It worked out so well.

With the holidays right around the corner, I decided to do another 40 Bags in 40 Days adventure! The most difficult part is coming up with the “list” of your 40 spaces. Break things up into manageable sizes – each job could take as little as 15 minutes to up to and hour. Not too shabby! Now, in the spring, I didn’t end up with big hefty bags from every job – sometimes just cleaning it out was enough – but in the end I sent 9 giant hefty bags to a local charity, recycled a ton of stuff and threw away weird junk that I had no idea why we had and was deemed unfit for man or beast.

When the holidays arrive – I will be ready – house organized and pristine and feel like I can walk around a corner or peep into a closet without being bombarded by junk. My house will be able to breath yet again!

Here’s a pic of my list for this time around. Hope it gives you some ideas of your own!

40 Bags in 40 Days

Leave a Reply

