Laundry Woes

I have come to the conclusion that my Mom deserves a medal. She is a rock star! In all of my years growing up, I was never out of clean clothes. Never once did I run out of underwear or have to wear them inside out! My Mom is a laundry queen. Something, unfortunately, she did not pass on to me.

We had 10 people in our little, three bedroom, one bathroom house. There was always at least one baby in cloth diapers and one in cloth training pants. I can’t even fathom doing laundry, let alone towels and sheets, for that many people.

In my house, there are four of us. And my daughter does her own laundry. Yet I still feel like I am washing, drying, folding, and putting away scads of clothes several times a week. I actually LOVE clean laundry. I just don’t like doing it. Really, it’s not so much the washing or the drying or even the folding. It’s the putting away of the clothes that gets me. I dump the clean laundry on my bed and fold it – and then it sits there and mocks me until I eventually get around to putting it away. I am horrible. It is the household chore I hate the most. I have wished so many times for a “Rosie”; you know, the Jetsons’ robot maid! Now SHE would be responsible for putting those dang clothes away!

Maybe I just need a paradigm shift as far as laundry goes. I’ll tell myself I love it and therefore, I will! I found this pic on Pinterest and I think it says it all! (unfortunately, it had no source, therefore, no attribution – but it is nonetheless genius!)

Don't you just love those 12 seconds when all the laundry is done!

What is the household chore that you dislike the most?

Leave a Reply

